Error processing SSI file

Error processing SSI file


Error processing SSI file

2009 BSC: Official Rules/Regulations

Index / Tourney Recaps | Official Information | Rosters | Directions | Contact
 Aug. 21-22 Schedule of Events | Rules/Regulations | Forms

Introduction - Late Entry:

If you arrive late, then the games you miss will be automatically added into your Loss column, and the team you were supposed to play, will get a free Win. If you are not at the gym by 1 pm, you forfeit the tournament completely.  

If you don't bring all your players on time for the games, your opposing team has the right to force a forfeit, giving them a free win.  It is up to the team with all their players in attendance, if any adjustments are warranted such as allowing the short handed team to pick up a few players.  The team that brought all their players is in the lead position here.

No Ringer Policy:

As of 2008, the No-Ringer policy has been finalized and there are no if, ands, or buts about it.  If a player is brought that is not on a team roster, that player will not be allowed to participate in the BSC.  If a player is a blatant ringer, he will not be allowed to play.  End of discussion.  Teams have to go through a lot to abide by the tournament rules, and we won't allow disruption.  Appreciate your cooperation.

Regular Season Format:

Each team will play a total of 6 games (5 on Friday and 1 on Saturday).

The games will be 20 minutes each (two 10 minute quarters), with a 2 minute half time, and with 2, 30 second timeouts per team, meaning one per half.

1st & 2nd Round Playoff Format:

The top 6 teams advance to the playoffs based on their regular season records.  The #1 and 2 seeds get a bye in the first round while the #3 - 6 seeds duke it out. 

The 1st & 2nd round games will be 22 minutes long (11 minute halves), with a 2 minute halftime, and 4 timeouts allotted.  Two in the first half, and two in the second half.  They will be 30 second timeout's.

The Final (Championship) Format:

The Championship game will be between the remaining two teams.

The Championship game will be 24 minutes long, with a 3 minute half time.  Both teams will be allotted a total of 4 timeouts.  Two 30-second timeouts per half. 


A total of 4 fouls per player, in the regular season. 

In the 1st & 2nd rounds of the playoffs, it's 5 fouls per player.

In the championship, it's 5 fouls per player.  

****If you exceed your foul limit, you are out for the game.****

Team Fouls:

Each personal foul counts towards a team foul.

When a team commits a total of 6 teams fouls in a half, the opposition shoots a free throw. (Single Bonus). If the free throw is made, another one is awarded. If the free throw is missed, play resumes as normal. Once a team reaches 8 total teams fouls in a half, all fouls committed from that point forward during the remainder of the game result in two free throws being awarded to the opposition. (Double Bonus)

The exception to this is if an offensive foul or a shooting foul. If an offensive foul is committed, there is only a change of possession (no free-throws).

If a shooting foul is committed (player fouled in the act of shooting), 2 free-throws are automatically awarded no matter how many team fouls exist.

Free Throws:

Free throws will be applied during both the regular and post-seasons.

Clock Stoppage:

The Clock will only stop for the following instances:

1)  Timeouts.

2)  Half-Time.

3)  Free Throw Shooting.

4)  The last 2 minutes of the second half of all games, for all calls/fouls/dead balls/out of bounds plays.

Other than those instances, the clock will be continuously running.


Official Refs -  Will be officiating the entire event.  So please be aware of the appropriate basketball rules such as 3 second violations, back court, etc, etc.  All calls are FINAL.

Cause for Ejection/Removal from the 2009 BSC:

Any player/coach/fan that conducts him or herself in a manner deemed unseemly with the organized nature of this basketball tournament, will be asked to leave.    

The official Referees have been given jurisdiction and full authority in this matter.


1.  The teams with the best records will advance.

2.  If 2 teams have the same record at the end of the regular season, the team that defeated the other team in the regular season will advance. 

3.  If the two teams have the same record and never played each other in the regular season, point differential will be tallied up for the regular season, for both teams.  The team with the higher number will advance.  This applies if there are more than 2 teams with the same record.

4.  Now if 2 teams never played each other in the regular season, have the same record, AND have the same point differential.  They will play a mandatory 8 minute tie breaker game, with one allotted 30 second timeout per team.

Overtime Rules:

1.    Regular Season Overtime Rules:

       If at the end of a game, there is a tie, there will be a jump ball and 2 minutes  of Overtime.  These 2 minute overtimes will continue until there is a winner.  There are no timeouts.  An un-used timeout from the 2nd half DOES CARRY OVER.

2.    Playoff Overtime Rules: 

A.  First Round/Second Round:  3 minute tie breaker.  One 30 second timeout per team.  These overtimes continue until there is a winner.

B.  Championship:  5 minute tie breaker.  One 1 minute timeout per team.  These overtimes continue until there is a winner.

Timeouts from the 2nd half carry over into overtime for both the regular season and the playoffs.

3-Point Contest:

The 3-Point Contest will take place on Saturday, August 22nd, and will be as follows:

1.  Each team needs to select 2 shooters.  These shooters will get 2 shots from each of the 5 points around the 3-point arc, at the designated time.   

2.  The top 4 shooters (meaning from the entire 3-point shooter lineup) with the most points, will duke it out on Saturday, during halftime of the championship game.

BSC Fan Challenge:

This crowd pleasing event will take place during half-time of the Championship game.  Contestants will line up and have a total of 3 shot attempts.  The person who makes the most shots wins the trophy.  Plain and simple.

All Star Selection:

The All Stars for the 2009 BSC will be chosen by the 8 team heads.  Each team head will fill out a sheet at the conclusion of the 1st/2nd round of the playoffs in which they'll list the top five 1st & 2nd team team players from all teams.  The players with the most votes at each position will be selected.  Trophies will then be given. 

Teams captains cannot select members from their own teams. 

Back Home

Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file